A Better Trust Fund

Ever read a Bible passage a million times, and one day The Lord brings up that same passage and you finally understand it?

This happened to me recently with Proverbs 3:5

“Trust in The Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding”

Throughout this walk with Christ, this might be the most common piece of Scripture that bombards me in every season. It’s one of those truths that finds me, over and over.

I would always respond, “Yes, I know, I get it”

Then earlier tonight, I was wrestling with a certain area in my heart that I couldn’t just seem to trust God with, no matter how hard I tried. I had hit a dead end…well it felt more like a brick wall.

You see, I always took that proverb to mean that I had to trust God with all of my heart, in the sense of strength and effort. That the reason I’m struggling is that I’m not trusting God hard enough; I’m not putting enough effort into it. I need to try harder.

But then, The Lord brought back a memory of a time when I had let my friend borrow one of my guitars. It was hardly used, and was in mint condition, but I really wanted to let him try it out.

I remember saying as my friend walked away with it, “Be careful, man! I’m trusting you with that guitar!”

It hit me

How weird would it have been if I said to my friend, “I trust you with my guitar”, and then walked away with the guitar in my hand?

In order to trust someone with something, they have to actually have responsibility over it. It has to be in their care, not yours.

That is when the revelation came.

Trusting The Lord with all my heart, doesn’t mean try with all of my heart to trust Him, but to simply give Him my heart. Place my heart, and all of its desires in His hands. Giving Him responsibility and authority over my heart.

How many times do we do the exact opposite?

We tell God, “I trust you with this” but then we don’t hand it over to Him?

God is ever Faithful. He is all Good. All Wise. All Powerful. All Loving.

Whatever we place in His hands, will be transformed and redeemed.

We can know for certain that if we truly hand over our desire to be loved, to be secure, to be valued, to be significant, to be renewed, to be transformed, that Jesus is MORE than able to provide for ALL of your hearts desires.

Do not place your heart in money, or circumstances, or power, or people, or boys or girls. Place your heart in God Almighty’s hand, and trust Him with it.

Leave a Reply

