Force it, break it.

Can you recall a time in your life where you tried to force a person, a relationship, a feeling, a passion, or a situation and ended up breaking it?

I can.

 

I used to spend a lot of time in my fathers garage tinkering around with small engines, bicycles and other mechanical projects. There were many times where I would encounter a bolt or nut that was seized shut, or parts of an engine that weren’t bolted together but still rusted together. In these circumstances my father would always tell me, “don’t force it, son, you’ll end up breaking it”.

Time and time again, I just nodded yes to let him know I understood him, but the moment he walked away I would give in and just use force.

9 times out of 10 I would end up either breaking what I tried to save, or hurt myself in the process.

Using force to acquire a desired outcome usually never ends up being favorable.

Using force demonstrates a lack of patience, understanding and awareness in any circumstance.

So the next time you encounter a situation where you feel need to force something, such as love, courage, discipline, will-power, change, or people, just keep in mind the words of my father spoken to me when I was 10 years old. “Don’t force it son, lest you break it.”

For more in depth insight into life check out my new book “Life: In Dirt” on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

