Merchant Man (City of Idols)

I traveled to a foreign land

Found a store and I walked right in

At the front was a merchant man

I approached him with a couple of questions

 

“In the city of idols, I just can’t refuse, 

what looks best? I don’t know which one to choose.

Lust for power, money or sex, can I try them before I write the check?”

 

The merchant man stepped back and took a breath,

He said, “follow me” and led me to the back

He showed me his collection, everything he owned

He looked at me and said,

 

“Im bound by everything that I see, and I need someone to set me free.

These ball and chains are all I know. They hold me close and won’t let me go”.

 

“I know what you’re wondering”, said the merchant man.

It explains your wandering in this foreign land.

Will this give me the peace I’m seeking?

Will this heal my heart from bleeding?”

 

I said, “some days feel like the sadness never ends

when I wake up and I feel like I don’t exist.

This life will pass me by just like a passing glance

is there time for me to have a second chance?”

 

Im bound by everything that I feel, and need someone to show me what is real.

These ball and chains are all I know. They hold me close and won’t let me go.”

 

The merchant man replied, “Here’s the simple truth.

There’s some things in this life you won’t want to lose.

So leave the city of idols that you can’t refuse.

Don’t look back while you still have time to choose,

Or be bound by everything that you see

And need someone to set you free

Those ball and chains will be all you know

They will hold you close and won’t let you go”

Leave a Reply

