Most people buy into this devastating worldview

A few years back over the summer, I was unemployed and had quite a bit of time on my hands. I figured one way I could spend my time was running. At the time I hadn’t ran in a few years, and being an ex-smoker I knew I wouldn’t be able to just run immediately.

 I would start my mornings on this three mile journey towards the local dam, along side this small airport. At first, I would just walk it, soaking in the morning rays and contemplating reality, (as I do best). I even saw a snapping turtle laying eggs!

After walking, I would begin to jog as far as I could, strengthening my lungs and cardio performance. 

During this process, a thought came to my mind as I looked down at my skateboard style shoes. 

“I should invest in some nice running shoes, then I would be able to run better.”

I then debated myself, “Cody, you don’t even have a job, why would you go by some running shoes right now?”

It dawned on me, I became subject to the common worldview of “Consumerism”.

Put simply, Consumerism presses the idea that “Accumulating and using things brings fulfillment”

I figured, “if I just owned a pair of running shoes, then I could run.”
But, I couldn’t even run steadily for 3 miles with the shoes I had!

It wasn’t a shoe problem, it was a cardio problem!

Are running shoes better than flip flops if you want to run? Of course! But unless you can run in the first place, they seem to be of little value.

This is a common theme and problem that holds us back from fulfilling our potential in life. We believe, “if I just had a little bit more, then I could really make a difference!”

This is a half truth, which are the most dangerous lies. The truth is, unless you use what you have to its full capacity, anything greater than that is waste of time and or money. But thats what this culture thrives on.

We want the best and highest quality of everything. We want new and improved, up to date everything, in order to make any progress. This has its purpose in its proper context, but the majority of the time we just want new things, because we want new things. The fact that I even thought of buying running shoes before I could even run demonstrated this worldview that has been imbedded in me from early on in my life.

I have met many people and have had many friends who haven’t pursued really anything simply because they didn’t have the best of the best at first. People that succeed in what they do don’t owe it all to their high quality equipment, they owe it to their passion and willingness to never give up. The equipment was simply a result of their previous hard work.
I didn’t learn how to play guitar on a 2,000 dollar Gibson Les Paul, I learned on a beaten up, acoustic guitar, but I kept pushing forward. If I didn’t love playing guitar, I would have given up then with that guitar, the strings were literally half an inch above the fret board!

Successful music producers didn’t start with pro tools, they started with a tape recorder, or a 4 track recorder for the 80s, or at best GarageBand on an iPhone. Work with what you have now, and if you love it, you’ll continue to invest in it.

One of my favorite Bible verses of all time is..

 “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”
(Luke 16:10)

My question to you is,

“Is there any area of your life that you have ignored because you didn’t have the best?”

“Are you using what you have now to its full potential?”
 

6 thoughts on “Most people buy into this devastating worldview

  1. We are taught to consume at all sorts of junctures of our lives. It isn’t usually for the self improvement reasons that you where outlining. Typically one would consume when they believe there is some sort of inadequacy in their lives, that if only they could fulfill this deficiency, they would attain whatever it is they are attempting to do. Many do not even attempt to try and figure out what their intended goal is before they run off begin to pray at the altar of the almighty dollar. Even worse, many believe they have a goal, but begin to invest so much money in secondary aspects of it (such as building a car, or acquiring musical instruments ), that they never actually attain their goal. There is much in life that will make you feel inadequate or be off balance. The most important thing to remember is that to reach true fulfillment, one must not constantly be searching or seeking.

    Like

    1. That is precisely what I was trying to say. Investing in secondary aspects is why goals aren’t met. Instead of focusing on the mission; why we are doing what we are doing, we become distracted by all things that aren’t first in our priority and we end up chasing our tails. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

